Skip to Content
Skip to Content
Skip Sub Menu

Click to Bulldog Image for Application Information

University Leadership

Drake’s leadership team is committed to a bold plan for progress toward our vision: to enhance our position as a premier comprehensive university in the Midwest and as a national leader in higher education for learning, faculty roles, and public service.

We will broaden the recognition we have earned for the exceptional quality of our academic programs and our distinctive commitment to integrating liberal education, professional preparation, and personal development.

Meet Our Leaders

Drake’s leadership team brings together experience and expertise with a deep dedication to the University and its mission.

Earl F. “Marty” Martin, presidentPresident Martin has led Drake University through the Office of the President since July 2015, previously serving as executive vice president at Gonzaga University in Spokane, Washington.

David Golder, FA’79, managing partner of Golder Investment Management and vice president and treasurer of the Golder Family Foundation—Mr. Golder is chair of the Drake University Board of Trustees, leading the resource managers and policy makers of the University.

Sue Mattison, provost—Dr. Mattison is the chief academic officer at the University, leading the Office of the Provost.

The Academic Deans and Chairs—These academic leaders head up the University’s six colleges and schoolsthe libraries, the interdisciplinary programs, the division of student affairs, and the academic departments.

Megan Franklin, interim director of Drake Athletics

Chris Gill, chief information technology officer—Mr. Gill has led Drake’s office of Information Technology Services (ITS) since 2015, previously serving as chief information officer at Gonzaga University in Spokane, Washington.

Teresa Krejci, chief financial officer—Ms. Krejci oversees the financial portion of Drake’s Office of Finance and Administration; she previously served as associate vice president of finance at Drake, coming to the University from the chief financial officer position at Southwestern Community College.

Venessa Macro, LW'92, chief administration officer—Ms. Macro leads the administration portion of Drake’s ; she previously served as associate vice president of finance and administration and director of human resources.

John P. Smith, AS'92, GR'00, vice president for university advancement—Mr. Smith has led the University Advancement team since 2006 after serving in several leadership roles at the University and as assistant vice president/director of principal gifts for Simpson College.

David Courard-Hauri, associate professor of Professor of Environmental Science and Sustainability—Mr. Courard-Hauri serves as president of the Drake Faculty Senate



Admission Calendar and Events

Important Admission Dates

Monday-Friday - Schedule an individual visit to tour Drake

March 1, 2018 - Regular Decision Deadline to apply for Fall 2018 enrollment

May 1, 2018 National Candidates Reply Date to enroll for Fall 2018