Banner img

University Leadership

Banner img

Drake’s leadership team is committed to a bold vision for progress: to enhance our position as a premier comprehensive university in the Midwest and as a national leader in higher education for learning, faculty roles, and public service.

We will broaden the recognition we have earned for the exceptional quality of our academic programs and our distinctive commitment to integrating liberal education, professional preparation, and personal development.

Meet Our Leaders

Drake’s leadership team brings together experience and expertise with a deep dedication to the University.

Earl F. Martin, presidentPresident Martin has led Drake University through the Office of the President since July 2015, previously serving as executive vice president at Gonzaga University in Spokane, Washington.

Larry Zimpleman, BN’73, GR’79, chairman, president, and CEO of Principal Financial Group—Mr. Zimpleman is chair of the Drake University Board of Trustees, leading the resource managers and policy makers of the University.

Joseph Lenz, interim provost—Dr. Lenz has taken on a leadership role in the University’s Office of the Provost while continuing as dean of the College of Arts and Sciences.

The Academic Deans and Chairs—These academic leaders head up the University’s six colleges and schoolsthe libraries, the interdisciplinary programs, the division of student life, and the academic departments.

Sandy Hatfield Clubb, director of Drake AthleticsMs. Hatfield Clubb has led the Department of Athletics since 2006, previously serving as senior associate director of athletics and senior women’s administrator at Arizona State.

Shannon Cofield, senior advisor for external affairs—Ms. Cofield leads external affairs for the Office of the President, and oversees the Community Engagement and Service-Learning Office, She previously served for eight years as president of the United Way of Central Iowa.

Chris Gill, chief information technology officer—Mr. Gill has led Drake Technology Services (DTS) since 2015, previously serving as chief information officer at Gonzaga University in Spokane, Washington.

Teresa Krejci, chief financial officer—Ms. Krejci oversees the Financial portion of Drake’s Office of Finance and Administration; she previously served as associate vice president of Finance, coming to the University from Southwestern Community College, where she was the chief financial officer.

Debra Lukehart, JO’89, vice president for university communications—Ms. Lukehart has led the Office of University Communications team since 2009. Before coming to Drake, she served as assistant vice president for communication and marketing at Augustana College.

Venessa Macro, LW'92, chief administration officer—In addition to responsibilities as Title IX Coordinator, Ms. Macro leads the Administration portion of Drake’s Office of Finance and Administration; she previously served as associate vice president of Finance and Administration and director of Human Resources.

John P. Smith, AS'92 GR'00, vice president for alumni and development—Mr. Smith has led the Alumni and Development team since 2006 after serving in several leadership roles at the University and as assistant vice president/director of principal gifts for Simpson College.

Robert P Soltis, professor of pharmacology—Mr. Soltis serves as president of the Drake Faculty Senate in addition to serving as a professor in the College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences.


Drake img
Do Something Drake
I've found 100 reasons to call Drake home
Admission Calendar

Available Now - Application for Fall 2016 admission

Available Now - FAFSA for Fall 2016

June & JulyIndividual campus visits, Monday-Friday

August 1 - Application for Fall 2017 admission

August 1-5 - Iowa Private College Week