Academic Calendar

Summer 2017

  • May 15 (Mon.)
    Summer term begins
  • May 29 (Mon.)
    Memorial Day (classes do not meet)
  • Jul 3 (Mon.)
    University closed for Independence Day (classes do not meet)
  • Jul 4 (Tue.)
    Independence Day (classes do not meet)
  • Aug 20 (Sun.)
    Summer term ends

Fall 2017 (Non Law School)

  • Aug. 28 (Mon.)
    Fall term begins
  • Sept. 1 (Fri.)
    Last day to add a class
  • Sept. 4 (Mon.)
    Labor Day (classes do not meet)
  • Sept. 11 (Mon.)
    Last day to drop a class without a “W”
  • Sept. 22-24 (Fri.-Sat.)
    Homecoming Weekend
  • Sept. 22-24 (Fri.-Sun.)
    Parent/Family Weekend
  • TBA (Wed)
    Mandatory fire drill
  • Oct. 16-17 (Mon.-Tues.)
    Fall break
  • Oct. 18 (Wed.)
    Midpoint of semester
  • Oct. 25 (Wed.)
    Last day to drop a class without extenuating circumstances
  • Nov. 21 (Tues.)
    Thanksgiving recess begins after evening classes
  • Nov. 27 (Mon.)
    Classes resume
  • Dec. 8 (Fri.)
    Day free for study
  • Dec. 11-15 (Mon.-Fri.)
    Final evaluation period
  • Dec. 15 (Fri.)
    Fall term ends
  • Dec. 16 (Sat.)
    Commencement

J-Term 2018

  • Jan. 3 (Wed.)
    Beginning of J-term
  • Jan. 15 (Mon.)
    Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (classes do not meet)
  • Jan. 26 (Fri.)
    End of J-term

Spring 2018 (Non Law School)

  • Jan. 29 (Mon.)
    Spring term begins
  • Feb. 2 (Fri.)
    Last day to add a class
  • Feb. 9 (Fri.)
    Last day to drop a class without a “W”
  • Mar. 16 (Fri.)
    Midpoint of semester
  • Mar. 12-16 (Mon.-Fri.)
    Spring break
  • Mar. 30 (Fri.)
    Last day to drop a class without extenuating circumstances
  • Apr. 26-28 (Thurs.-Sat.)
    Drake Relays (Non-Law classes suspended for Drake Relays at 1:50pm on Fri, Apr 27)
  • Apr. 30 (Mon.)
    Non-Law classes resume
  • May 10 (Thurs.)
    Non-Law classes end
  • May 11 (Fri.)
    Day free for study
  • May 14-18 (Mon.-Fri.)
    Final evaluation period
  • May 18 (Fri.)
    Spring term ends
  • May 20 (Sun.)
    Commencement

This is the official Academic Calendar for Drake University.  It is updated and maintained by the Office of the Registrar.

Today at Drake
University News
September 22, 2017
Drake University hosted a special luncheon to announce and celebrate the winners of the 2017 John Pappajohn Iowa Entrepreneurial Venture Competition, which encourages and promotes entrepreneurial activity and create greater awareness of the resources available to entrepreneurs in Iowa.
×